The department of Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles defines a recreational vehicle as, “a recreational vehicle-type unit primarily designed as temporary living quarters for recreational, camping, or another travel use, which either has its own motive power or is mounted on or drawn by a vehicle.” Any person wishing to transact business with vehicles that fall under the above definition of recreational vehicles would not only need to obtain a license, but also a Florida recreational vehicle dealer surety bond. A Florida RV dealer surety bond is required before licensure to ensure that the principal, the dealer, will comply with the laws and regulations placed for recreational vehicle dealing. It is a safeguard for the client in the event of financial loss due to any unethical decisions, damages or failure to adhere to state and local laws by covering them up to the full bond amount.
There are two license types available for recreational vehicle dealers. Both license classes require the dealer to have at least a $10,000 Florida RV dealer bond.
There are serious legal repercussions in the event a person deals, buys, sells and even displays recreational vehicles either without an RV/RU dealer license or with an expired RV/RU dealer license and/or RV bond. The licensing and bond periods both run from October 1 through September 30, there is a $340 fee for new dealer licenses and a $140 fee for license renewals; $40 of which is used towards a Mobile Home and Recreational Vehicle Protection Trust Fund. In the event a person obtains a license near the end of the licensing period, the license will still expire on September 30.
Any person found violating the licensing requirements and still conducting business will be charged with a second-degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to six months in jail and/or a $500 fine. The person in violation will also be liable under civil law for violation of Florida’s Deceptive and Unfair Trade Practices Act. He/she will be subject to fines of up to $5,000 per violation and possible permanent injunction issued by a circuit court. Any vehicles displayed for sell by an unlicensed individual could be in violation of Section 316.1951 of the Florida Statutes and may be removed from the premises.
It is highly important to obtain bonding for anyone wishing to apply or renew for a Florida RV/RU dealer license. Without a surety bond, a license will not be issued and the application process could be delayed. If you want to be a recreational vehicle dealer in the State of Florida, contact The ProSure Group today; we can provide you with the right recreational vehicle dealer surety bond.
Fill Out The Form Below and
Receive your FREE Quote Today
The Florida Recreational Vehicle Dealer Bond protects the public from improper business practices, failure to comply with contractual obligations, and noncompliance with regulations required by the Department and set forth in Chapters 319 and 320 of the Florida Statutes.
The Florida Recreational Vehicle Dealer Surety Bond is regulated by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, Division of Motorist Services and required under Florida State Statutes Section 320.771. The Obligee on the bond reads as the duly appointed and qualified Director of the Division of Motorist Services of the State of Florida.
Florida RV Dealer bonds run concurrently with your RV/RU license, which renews annually and expires on Sept. 30.
Contact The ProSure Group. As surety experts in business over 23 years in Florida, The ProSure Group has handled hundreds of bonds of this type and has partnerships with more than 30 different surety companies. This ensures that we get you the best, most competitive pricing and terms available in the marketplace. You just need to complete our simple application and one of our specialists will quickly contact you.
What you will need to submit to obtain your license:
|License||Florida Recreational Vehicle Dealer Surety Bond||Director of the Division of Motorist Services of the State of Florida
||$10,000||Click Here To Get Bonded|